My Endless Summer

by

Does anyone remember the 1966 movie The Endless Summer? Two surfers travel around the world, northern and southern hemispheres to surf the year round. What freedom! What hedonistic pleasure! Ah, the 60s.

Now the other day I was creeping a U-boat from produce to the backroom through tourists who either had no awareness there could be anyone else in the world or who looked at me with that “I’m not moving till I’m ready” glare. And, of course, answering questions: “Where in the hell did you put the bacon!?” “Uh, in the meat department.”

“This summer is endless,” I said to myself. Then it hit me. The Endless Summer. It’s a horror movie!

"Yes?" - photo of mountain goat by Bernie Smetzer

“Yes?” – photo by Bernie Smetzer

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Endless Summer”

  1. Shirley Jane Lavoie Says:

    “Them damn tourists!” Your summer will not be endless, because you are in fact, in the great State of Maine.. thus, consider yourself fortunate (at the risk of sounding heartless) that you don’t live in San Diego or some such place, but yet a state in which summer hardly exists! So close your eyes, tap your heels together three times, and you soon will be back in Kansas 😉

  2. Mike Smetzer Says:

    But, Shirley, I don’t want to go back to Kansas in August.

Leave a Reply

